You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it… 

We all struggle and it is okay to have upsetting days. When I relapse into old habits, I always beat myself up over it. I feel that all my progress has been overwritten and that I have gone backwards to square one.
As I write this, I remind myself we are all trying to cope with life’s expectations. And yes, sometimes it can be even harder with Mental Health providing the added fight to even access the day. 

Like many people, I need to learn not to be so hard on myself when I relapse and have a breakdown. Instead I need to look at is as a learning point. I remind myself; this time I have talked about how I feel, this time I have not skipped school or isolated myself. And this is all positive progress. 

Yes, I still have a large amount of things to work on, but I have to keep in mind I’ll get there someday, so instead I must focus on today. 

My recovery from the start has never been linear, and although this is an unfortunate fact, it does mean each achievement is something I appreciate more. 

Through all the tears, stress, breakdowns and the ‘I give up’ moments, I have more of an understanding of how to cope effectively in the future.

Every day global situations are the same, they show us we need each other, that Life can be very hard, and bad things do happen to good people. But some of the worst events have also led to the most outstanding examples of kindness, compassion and determination.

This weeks westminster attacks are no exception, they show how quickly things can spiral, how innocent people are affected and that responding to this is key to any kind of recovery FROM ANYTHING… “An act of terrorism tried to silence our democracy. But today we meet as normal – as generations have done before us, and as future generations will continue to do – to deliver a simple message: we are not afraid”

4 thoughts on “You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it… 

Leave a Reply

