I’m Struggling, I’m Human.

It’s only human to have bad times. 

This last week for me has been exactly that. No, I’m not going to write a post pretending everything’s just ‘fine’ because that would be giving a glossed picture of recovery.
See, the truth is the aim of being positive is still just a relative concept. Even those with years of practise can not always determine unexpected fluctuations… 

Shaky moments are perfectly normal! 

People who seem to have it altogether still have rough patches. With good intentions effected by fate it leaves us no choice but to get on the train at the next station.

For me reminding myself of something I read whilst inpatient really helps me to put things into perspective and give me the courage to carry on. With the passage striking me on a personal level I really wanted to share it with you all….

“Picture yourself when you were five years old. In fact dig out a photo of little you at that time and tape it to your mirror. How would you treat her, love her, feed her? How would you nurture her if you where the mother of little you? I bet you would protect her fiercly whilst giving her space to spread her itty bitty wings. She’d get naps, healthy food, imagination time, and adventures into the wild. If playground bullies hurt her feelings, you’d hug her tears away and give her perspective. When tantrums and meltdownss turned her into a poltergeist you’d demmand a loving time out in the naughty chair. From this day forward I want you to extend that same compassion to your adult self.”

I do not intend on sharing how it related to me but would l love to know if it impacted you in anyway… please let me know! Now, have the best week possible and keep moving forward.

22 thoughts on “I’m Struggling, I’m Human.

  1. It impacted with me, I wrote a post earlier called I wonder. Pain can sit within us for many years then it somehow rises to the top and comes out through words, not everyone recognises other people’s pain short of someone writing it explaining that it happened to them. Why people have to experience pain then live with it be it psychical or mental or both I don’t know. What it does is make us have a better understanding of others and makes us grow as a person.

    I have come to realise that pain coming to the top is a way to work through it.

    I feel for that little girl, she did not deserve not be cherished and loved. It was not her fault, it makes me sad that she suffered but she has to live in the moment. Now because looking back hurts and nothing can change the past. 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 😀 Truly I felt a little ticked at first but the thought as it progressed I am starting to feel very good.
    ME BEING TREATED BY ME
    This can turn out to be in volumes. You have given a very different perspective to Life as a whole.
    Feeling so and acting to feel so.
    Being now and thinking of past.
    What caresses shall we do.
    Maybe we may ultimately have to THANK those who took cared US.
    Good Post👌👍
    MY PATS👏
    Shiva

    Like

  3. Sometimes we hold the most distorted view of ourselves and our worth, which is far greater than many will ever realize. Growing up, many of our ‘experiences, emotions, etc.,’ were valued and weighed, perhaps even judged. This is the muck we work a lifetime to undo. Emotions are neither right or wrong. Experiences of all types can have an everlasting perceptual curve when embraced. Struggling is a human endeavor. ‘People who have it all together’ may resent the false accusation 🙂 Hugs~

    Like

  4. Love love love this:
    “Picture yourself when you where five years old. In fact dig out a photo of little you at that time and tape it to your mirror. How would you treat her, love her, feed her? How would you nurture her if you where the mother of little you? I bet you would protect her fiercly whilst giving her space to spread her itty bitty wings. She’d get naps, healthy food, imagination time, and adventures into the wild. If playground bullies hurt her feelings, you’d hug her tears away and give her perspective. When tantrums and meltdownss turned her into a poltergeist you’d demmand a loving time out in the naughty chair. From this day forward I want you to extend that same compassion to your adult self.”

    Like

  5. Almost 30 years ago, I also was in a hospital for treatment of anorexia. I am thriving now but still need to remind myself of that 5-year-old every now and then. Do take care of yourself! There’s hope and lots of life ahead!

    Like

  6. My own self care has plummeted lately it seems, where I just over extended and overworked (of necessity, but still) under a great deal of stress, and I found myself taking a very long time to recover. The whole episode was a little over a month long and I’m finally feeling fairly normal just today, probably a week or so after the fact.

    I’m hoping to get back into regular blogging at some point. That has suffered somewhat, during my intense preoccupation with other matters.

    Thanks for sharing your journey here……

    Ann

    Like

Leave a Reply

