Almost anything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes – even you…

The art of relaxation… a chance for your body to recharge, recover and revitalise. With many appreciating the time spent sprawled across the sofa, watching a film or enjoying a bubble bath. It is important that we all have this opportunity to just “let go” and forget all that is going on around us.

But it can be hard or even a rare occasion for many as they cannot seem to find any time in their hectic schedule. I understand that many are constantly on the go, busy, under pressure or have many responsibilities… However, I still think we use the excuse far too often!

Everyone has time to fit in at least a couple of minutes to put down the phone, shut their eyes and switch off from the world.Yes, switch off…that thing we all find a struggle to do – me included.

Personally I find it hard to relax, not because I don’t have the time but more because I don’t allow myself too. Unfortunately the compulsion to keep constantly moving and on the go has come as part of my Anorexia. This means that any moments I find myself beginning to relax I am filled with a nagging voice telling me I’m either to lazy or don’t deserve to rest.

This can be difficult when both physically and mentally exhausted and something I am trying to address as a part of my recovery. Whilst an inpatient I had relaxation classes which were scheduled into our weekly time-table. I found these sessions very beneficial and although it was sometimes difficult due to the guilt, I knew it was something I had to do…

Since returning to “normal life” I have not had this dedicated time slot to relax and if I am honest I have not been consistently allowing myself too. The last week I have spent on holiday in Zakythnos, although initially being overwhelmed with guilt, I am beginning to remember just how important it is and am ready to re-introduce it when I return home…

Many of you will be wondering why something most people really love, I manage to find so hard. Well if I’m honest I don’t know the exact reason behind it either? But what I do know is that any moment I do end up trying to switch off my thoughts can become unmanageable and like those with a stressful job this is the time when everything seems to rush to the front of our minds.

I have learnt some techniques to successfully switch off when I feel panicky or overwhelmed and have found this also helps with the aim of “switching off.”

  • Move into a safe or calming environment – being surrounded by a place of safety will automatically make you feel calmer
  • Be aware of sounds, smells and the feel of things around you – noticing small thing’s like the rustling of trees in the wind or even the clock ticking can give you a distraction
  • Lastly, I was advised to focus on my breathing – firstly because slowing down each breath helps your body relax and also they reverse the effects of adrenaline.

“If you neglect to charge a battery, it dies. And if you run full speed ahead without stopping for water, you lose momentum to finish the race” So make it a priority of yours to schedule in some time to relax because although it may feel an inconvenience, in the long run you will really appreciate it!!

28 thoughts on “Almost anything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes – even you…

  1. The mindfulness YouTube videos are super helpful and talk you through like different breathing techniques , idk if you’ve seen them before but I find them super helpful, keep goin beautiful 💖xxx

    Like

  2. Psalm 37:7 says, “Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.” That one scripture has spoken to me many times over the years. Me, I get impatient and want stuff to get better NOW!!! But God wants us, his children to come to Him and rely on Him our HEAVENLY Father, just as we would an earthly parental figure for earthly confort. Jesus said, “MY peace I give to you….”, not the kind of earthly peace as the world giveth, but Heavenly Peace. Wait for it. Know it’s coming. Believe it. Why? Jesus lovingly reassured, “If it were not so, I would have told you.”. Jesus also said, “I will never leave you or forsake you…” That’s a whole lot of love. God bless you dear one.
    Mike T.
    (recovering addict/alcoholic)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like some of the basic devices my counselor tried….basically okay…until she down played my faith and I felt like she had only the one option and had basically used how she perceived me–which she refused to fully explain–which I took as her giving up (as others have done). Oh well, the techniques are still valid and useful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

