“Your current circumstances don’t determine where you can go they merely determine where you start!”

So this week I have attended a group for people in recovery from Eating Disorders located in Bedford. I have met some lovely people since I first started going, built up my confidence as I have got on the train independently, I have developed new skills and also it has benefitted me by speaking to others who ‘get me’.

Just to clear things up for anyone thinking we sit in a circle moaning about our life problems for an hour its the complete opposite!

Each week I have gone we have participated in art activities like scrapbooking, canvas painting and on Monday this week a guy called Ben came in to show us something called Pyrography (aka; wood burning!).

Its been a great distraction attending and a great way to spend some of my holiday – Thankyou everyone involved!!

The pyrography was really interesting and highly therapeutic! We all engraved key rings with patterns and writing in between the time spent burning pieces of wood because it smells AMAZING!!!……

I would recommend it to anyone even just for the smell!! Aha!

Anyway…Ben like many other people has suffered from poor mental health but after seeking treatment he has gone on to help other people with similar difficulties. He started a campaign “Let’s Be Open About Mental Health To Break The Stigma” (like the page on Facebook) to try to get people to talk more about mental health, bring awareness and to let others know it’s okay to ask for help.

He battled for many years avoiding reaching out to others due to the stigma attached to mental health and feels (like myself) that it is extremely important to let others know help is available and it is possible to Recover.

‪#‎BreakTheStigma‬ ‪#‎MentalHealthAwareness‬

The group sessions have really opened my eyes to the vast amount of people who are, or have been sufferers. I have met people of all ages, genders, races and backgrounds who have been victims to mental health since I began my journey to recovery and it has shown me just how mental health can affect anyone.

Previous to my difficulties I would never have imagined I would suffer from a mental illness (I don’t think anyone does!) but it just shows you how we have no control over who gets taken by these demons.

It doesn’t matter how supportive their family are, who they are friends with or where they come from – mental illness DOES NOT discriminate!

Ben could be that genuine, friendly guy, living round the corner from you with every right to go through life living happy and care free! But no, this wasn’t the case when he suffered from an illness that periodically left him believing he had no hope tomorrow let alone a future. I could sit here all day asking questions of why such a lovely person happened to become a victim? But instead because I cannot change what happenned I am thankful of how he has managed to overcome the worst of it and gone on to inspire other (like myself).

His experience has made him who he is today and we should be happy that after the pain he’s been through the outcome has created a remarkably stronger person than before!

Stories like this I find remarkable and just help re-assure me that although things might not be perfect at the moment in time it can all turn around and I can achieve something whilst helpingto show  others the way…

After all “Your current circumstances don’t determine where you can go they merely determine where you start!”

Like this page on Facebook and help support  us in beating the stigma surrounding mental health!!! >>> Let’s Be Open About Mental Health

 

 

29 thoughts on ““Your current circumstances don’t determine where you can go they merely determine where you start!”

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed your group meeting. It sounds more exciting than my AA meetings. We never burnt anything (except for that one time we had candles and one of the “just for today” cards got too close) 🙂

    Like

  2. You write so beautifully. I find it so interesting and helpful that group stuff can be such a positive experience. Ben sounds like a lovely guy and I’ve liked the Facebook page for him!☺️ I hope you know that you are inspiring others by writing this incredible blog💜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mental health has always been stigmatised. I don’t think you know how many others are affected unless you have suffered. I am a paranoid schizophrenic with bi-polar but it was only when people commented that I couldn’t be mentally ill since I was always smiling and laughing that I noticed others around me who were also mentally ill. If we can help each other then don’t we owe it to ourselves to do that? You are amazing long may you continue to touch others and be an inspiration.

    Like

  4. Love the last line you wrote: “Your current circumstances don’t determine where you can go they merely determine where you start!” Brings hope to those life challenges that seem unsurmountable. 🙂

    Like

  5. I was looking for the re-blog button. I’m very passionate about stamping out the MH Stigma, too. I would like to support. I gave you a “follow”.
    I shared your story and am encouraging my readers & blogger friends to support the campaign.

    Namaste!
    ❤ BP

    Like

  6. Hi Kirsty – so glad you are in treatment, and blogging so that your story can be shared. We must remove the stigma of mental health illness!! I don’t want to sound like just another older non-empathetic person telling you nothing is wrong with you — when I was your age I was anorexic, and sadly did not recover til my mid-20s. (here is my story if you’d like to read it: https://reliablyuncomfortable.com/2013/02/04/writing-down-the-bones-my-tale-of-anorexia-and-redemption/) I still suffer some health consequences to this day (I am 53) and oh how I wish I could sit down with my 17 year old self and show her how life is going to turn out! So I will say it because it’s true: there is nothing wrong with you. You are beautiful and perfect in your human imperfection. Believe it, because I do. I will watch your progress to health with a cheer in my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for responding, I hope you are doing well too. As for me, once I made the commitment to love myself and forgive myself as easily as I love and forgive others, my life has been filled with abundance. Life is short, so very very short…we must love all we can, while we’re here. xo

        Like

Leave a Reply

