It’s OFFICIAL..

1:00 pm August 1st

So the day has finally come! DISCHARGE DAY!!

As I anxiously wait for the doctors to give me the official confirmation I am sat here driving the route whilst reflecting on how far I have come.

Its been a rollercoaster to say the least but thanks to all the support of Friends, family, Hospital staff, patients, school, CAMHS and everyone on here I have finally made it through my admission. Even some of the smallest things that people have done recently I have appreciated more than anyone could imagine. The uplifting comments on my blog, letters through the post, odd text messages and the smiles and hugs I have received. Your contribution no matter how small has helped me into recovery.

Yes the journey is nowhere near over but it has well and truly begun….

3:30 pm (review over)

Wow, my review is finally over and its official I am a free women! I can hardly believe the day has come myself and honestly have to keep reminding myself I am never going back… I won’t ever see the staff i have been with for months and the patients I have become so close too unless I travel miles to meet them.

It was hard saying goodbye but at the same time I am ecstatic! Cotswold Spa has helped me so much and without it I would never have started recovery in the first place… watching my Mum cry in my final review today and thanking everyone for all they have done for me really hit home. I knew all along how much it was affecting them and desperately wished to take the pain away but I didn’t know how…. It sounds ridiculous but it took for it to be forced upon me before I realised just how.

It must have been heart breaking for everyone to watch Anorexia destroy me feeling completely hopeless and unable to save me. The more my parents tried to “save there little girl” the more I would block everyone out. It is terrible what Anorexia does to a person and this transformation has been life changing.

A lot of people have said they now have their “old Kirsty back” but I don’t think this is the best way to look at it…. Instead I have discovered more about myself and built on who I used to, I have learnt my triggers and found what I truely love.

I continue to gain courage and determination in every passing moment, mistake and achievement I make….Please let today be the day you finally release yourself from the imprisonment of past grudges and anger. Simplify your life. Let go of the poisonous past and live the abundantly beautiful present…TODAY!!!!

Watch my video of my recovery so far!!  https://flipagram.com/f/tPHzntTHpG

42 thoughts on “It’s OFFICIAL..

  1. You are so brave to talk about everything you’ve been through. I know how hard it is struggling with an eating disorder, and you’re so brave for what you’ve done. Congratulations on being discharged and good luck! Keep telling your story!

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this.
    I really liked this:
    “A lot of people have said they now have their “old Kirsty back” but I don’t think this is the best way to look at it…. Instead I have discovered more about myself and built on who I used to, I have learnt my triggers and found what I truely love. ”

    I wish you all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Literally so proud of you. The video nearly made me cry and I want you to know how thankful I am for being the best support for Danni. I think all of you girls and seriously incredible and I am looking forward to reading all of your steps through recovery. I know I don’t really know you, but here whenever you need me. Lots of love to you ❤ xxx

    Like

  4. I have only just seen your blog and I’m honestly so happy for you! I’m still currently going through my recovery and seeing this has honestly motivated me. congratulations on being discharged, I can’t wait for my day to come!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Every day moves me closer to the grandest version of the greatest vision I ever held for myself. Some days just move faster than others. It’s those backward steps you want to avoid. 😉

    Like

  6. JMJ
    I sure hope you found the blog BeautyBeyondBones. She has triumphed over Anorexia too. I’m so glad that you have made such progress. You are going to be such a blessing to so many people. Congratulations on making this milestone.

    Like

  7. Holy shit, you’re my first ever follower. Assuming it wasn’t some sort of mistake, this might get me to update more frequently what is basically just a way for me to record my walks. I’m off to Scotland for a few days – when I get back I will check your blog out. I’ve had experience with serious illness too – a few years ago I was diagnosed with pretty bad blood cancer. But my passion for mountains came from experiences I had only BECAUSE OF having cancer, and I honestly consider it the best thing to have happened to me. That might sound weird to people who’ve not had a severe diagnosis but it can happen. I would have sent this as a private message but I’m not sure if that’s possible.

    Like

    1. Wow I feel honoured as your first follower…

      I love the way you have equalised both mental health and physical it means a lot to me and my aim to stop stigma!!! I’m sorry to hear of you getting cancer but am so happy you have now become a stronger person! I admire your courage and wish you well in the future

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Kirsty, Congrats on your release form inpatient!
    You look ready to take on the world!
    It’s so wonderful to hear that you’ve learned so much, and are embracing your love, and being positive.
    Incidentally, I played flute in high school band!! Now, I don’t have the breath anymore. I passed on Felicia to my niece who plays. I miss her! I had her over 40 years!

    Like

  9. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog which led me to yours. You are a beautiful and courageous young woman. So glad you are sharing your story, a blog reaches a worldwide audience of the most supportive people. I’m intrigued and am going to follow you on your journey 😊

    Like

  10. I am glad that you have been able to get some quality help with the issues that were harming you. All people during their lifetime have to face at least a few Demons and we all have to learn our own methods of how to control them so that they don’t control us. With age, for me, I have learned to overcome my issues through faith, meditation and prayer to where now I find that I am at peace with my own mind. For me, I have found that the more faith and trust I have in Jesus the more mellow I am in the life He is letting me live. I hope that you are able to find such peace also. From reading your Bio it is obvious to me that you are a very good young lady with a very good brain on your shoulders and that you have a very good light within you. I wish you well, God’s peace to you and yours.

    Like

  11. I am a survivor of suicide
    Depression and anxiety
    And probably a lot more
    If I stop to think about
    keep up your journey
    Never stop
    I have fallen many times
    But as I said I am a survivor
    There are many posts
    On my blog about
    Experience,strength,and hope
    I’m always around
    Thank you for your follow
    See you on the other side of creativity
    The Sheldon Perspective

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

